Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Setting up AC750 D6000 Router as Access Point

Ayyappan
Aspirant

Setting up AC750 D6000 Router as Access Point

Hi all,

There have been posts in the past as to how to setup D6000 as Access Point. I may be late in providing a solution which I have been using since 2017 without any issue. Sorry I did not see the posts earlier. Someone may already have provided a better alternate solution to mine.

My main router is Netgear D7000 but irrespective of the main router to which D6000 needs to be configured as AP the procedure should be same except perhaps for the main router address. In the case of D7000 the address is 192.168.0.1 with DHCP On. I selected 192.168.0.2 as the address for the AP but any address within the DHCP will do as well. D6000 works as AP even under "auto-get" address from main router.

D6000 in this case has its own WiFi/Ethernet subnet. Disbabling DHCP on D6000 does not help. I tried prior to posting this. See the attached document for the setup. And see

https://kb.netgear.com/23784/I-m-setting-up-my-NETGEAR-router-for-the-first-time-how-do-I-set-it-to-...

also. The wiring is as per the above kb and all settings done manually instead of using genie assistance. All other settings are default.

It is better to select specific WiFi bands on main router as well as D6000. On D7000 the bands are different than those I am using on D6000.

Hope that helps.

Model: D6000|AC750 WiFi Modem Router - 802.11ac Dual Band Gigabit
Message 1 of 5
antinode
Guru

Re: Setting up AC750 D6000 Router as Access Point

> [...] solution [...]

"solution"?  What was the problem?  Does following the instructions
in the D6000 User Manual (or that KB article) not work?

> [...] I selected 192.168.0.2 as the address for the AP but any address
> within the DHCP will do as well. [...]

"selected"?  And did what with it?  Does a reserved dynamic address
need to be "within the DHCP [address pool?]"?  I don't think so.