Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Nighthawk D7000 2.4Ghz WiFi issues

DKenward
Star

Just re-tweeted the post from @boiledfrog which can be accessed via this link: https://twitter.com/dmkenward/status/940489769112494080 I would urge @Jovian @IAK @michaelkenward @jimbaxter to re-tweet as I did. Netgear make it very hard to talk with them directly which is not great customer service. Clearly needs a Firnware fix as the new update is failing authentication on all devices that use 2.4Ghz (could just be devices are not given long enough to authenticate but I am no engineer to know the answer). Adjusting the settings within the router does not work. Re-setting to manufacturer conditions and inputting settings manually does not work. Playing around with settings is a sticking plaster solution (which does not work) and needs a cure so as not to happen again and not compromise speed or functionality of the router by tweaks which do not work.

Model: D7000|Nighthawk AC1900 VDSL/ADSL Modem Router
Message 26 of 595
dajones9686
Aspirant

same problem....has anyone tried to rollback the firmware? I have had the modem around a month and the problem just started not sure if I had a recent firmware update.....very disappointed in netgear. Bought from Amazon will ensure customer feed back is updated with these issues
Message 27 of 595

@dajones9686 wrote:
....not sure if I had a recent firmware update.....

It isn't likely that you got an update without knowing about it. It is usually one of those "There's an update, do you want it?" prompts.

By "same problem", is this 2.4 GHz wifi clients losing their connection? Is this all wifi devices?

@dajones9686 wrote:
....has anyone tried to rollback the firmware?

People have tried all manner of things. Sadly, there is no single "this will fix it" answer. Here are some of the tricks people have tried, along with a few that have come up over the years:

• if you haven't done so already, factory reset the device to erase its memory of earlier bugs