× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: ReadyNAS Data Recovery - VMware recovery tool

_vito
Aspirant

_vito wrote:

I had some problems, since I am not a linux expert:
1) vgchange -ay c
gave an error 'Volume group "c" not found' I tried running

I connected the HD directly to SATA controller and I am able to see it in group c inside VMWare now (maybe my SATA to USB connector did not work well).

I make all the steps up to the error
fuse-ext2: Can't read an inode bitmap while reading inode bitmap
and when I try to access from another terminal to /mnt/lvm I got the error
Operation not permitted while reading inode xxxxxxx
as reported to several other post.

I tried also to compile again the fuse-2.8.1, e2fsprogs-1.41.2 and ext2fuse-0.8.1, having same result.
Can someone help me?
Message 26 of 188
mdgm-ntgr
NETGEAR Employee Retired

_vito wrote:

dekkit wrote:

The error:

Is understood to be resolved by using a the 0.5 version of ext2fuse, so i'll recompile the kernal using the 0.5 and post another version of the image.

If you wish to try this yourself you should use a 0.5 version of ext2fuse.
Message 27 of 188
_vito
Aspirant

mdgm wrote:
_vito wrote:

dekkit wrote:

The error:

Is understood to be resolved by using a the 0.5 version of ext2fuse, so i'll recompile the kernal using the 0.5 and post another version of the image.

If you wish to try this yourself you should use a 0.5 version of ext2fuse.

...and it worked!!!

I, not an experienced linux user, build from scratch a Ubuntu 9.10 VMWare machine installing e2fsprogs-1.41.9, Fuse-2.8.1 and ext2fuse-0.5.

Thanks a lot.
Message 28 of 188
mdgm-ntgr
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Your welcome. Care to share the image with us?
Message 29 of 188
_vito
Aspirant

mdgm wrote:
Your welcome. Care to share the image with us?

Sure!
Gimme some time to restore backup and make some adjustments.
Message 30 of 188
_vito
Aspirant