× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: XR500 not working now wired or wireless

Faay
Aspirant

XR500 not working now wired or wireless

Model: Netgear XR500 Nighthawk Pro Gaming Router

firmware: unsure, whatever the most recent was

Home network

'Blast' from Xfinity. no fiber.

Hello all,

First and foremost I've been using Netgear routers exclusively since 2014.

I had been using the old reliable Nighthawk AC1900 since 2016.

Last June I purchased the XR500. Had been working great up until 20 Feb 2022.  One day it just up and decided to stop working wired AND wireless.

All leds are ok, except for the 'Internet', it was amber.

Troubleshooting accomplished:

1. Reset system logic (powered everything down, including unplugging from battery backup) waited forever then restarted modem, waited then router.  No change

2. Checked cables and swapped out. no change

3. Connected desktop directly to the modem. modem checks good, great connection.

4. Factory reset, go through Wizard again, firmware etc.. No change

5. Plugged in good ol reliable Nighthawk AC1900 (R7000). Everything works like a champ.

Opened a ticket with Netgear, heard back 11 days later pointing out that my "warranty" was past 90 days and they could sign me up and buy a new one. Then asked  "Going back to your case what are the LEDs currently lit on your NETGEAR router?

So I answered his email once again, specifically saying what led's were lit and that only the Internet was amber.

Next email response (last night): We see that your warranty is beyond the 90 days, would you like to buy a new one then replied "Based on the information you have the router's hardware is still working it's just your modem and router stopped communicating the reason why the Internet LED is amber." and again asking "Going back to your case what are the LEDs currently lit on your NETGEAR router?"