Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Help a Noob Out? Trouble with 5G

BoroDeke
Aspirant

Help a Noob Out? Trouble with 5G

Hey there - I was hoping someone in this group might be able to help me out. I'm a noob, for sure, so I appreciate very much any ideas someone has.

I have a R7000, along with an MB8600 modem. ISP is Comcast, and my plan provides 1GB speed. My firmware (just updated yesterday) is 1.0.9.64

We don't use cable for TV, so we have 4-5 AppleTVs, as well as some smart home devices. There are generally 15-20 devices connected to the network at any one time.

In the last few months, i've been noticing some issues with wifi and internet service in general. Comcast came out, checked everything over, said our signal was "too hot", replace a few pieces of coax, and got it set "correctly". However, we are still having trouble. It seems to happen when it rains. 

I began to wonder if it was something in the ethernet cabling under the house (we have one of those centralized boxes where the cable comes in and my modem is there, but the router was connected via ethernet in another room). So, I moved the router right next to the modem. I've done power cycles and factory resets on both.

My issue is that the 5g doesnt stay connected to the internet. I can see it when I scan for networks, and it acts like it wants to connect. But when I select it and try to connect, it fails.

When I reset the router, I chnaged the security settings on the 5g network (disabled them), and it worked fine (speedtest showed 423 down and 41.6 up). However, when i enabled the security back on, the problems started again. 

So, when i'm not connected to 5g i'm getting more like 38.5 down and 22.9 up.

Thanks again, sorry if this is tl;dr.

Model: R7000|AC1900 Smart WIFI Router
Message 1 of 6

Accepted Solutions
IrvSp
Master

Re: Help a Noob Out? Trouble with 5G

Follow instructions here, https://kb.netgear.com/000060253/R7000-Firmware-Version-1-0-9-42.