Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Need Help after Factory Reset on NIghthawk Router

StElmoQn
Aspirant

Need Help after Factory Reset on NIghthawk Router

Had to physically relocate my desk and computer components yesterday and now for some reason my wired ethernet connection is shot.  I can still log on wirelessly and my ISP walked me through many steps last night to try and reset my system.  It was suggested (and I highly concur) the problem is with the router.  I get an error message that the IP address cannot be configured properly despite the ISP's tech support having me manually input an IP address.

I just performed a factory reset on the router but still cannot log in to it.  I'm not a techie who can go in and fiddle with things so I'm looking for help!

Model: R7000|Nighthawk AC1900 Dual Band WiFi Router
Message 1 of 29

Accepted Solutions
StephenB
Guru

@StElmoQn wrote:

I prefer to run the modem as a bridge and use my Nighthawk as the true router.  That being said, what exactly will be the setup?

... and then the NIghthawk and the CenturyLink modem are connected from LAN port to LAN port.

Connecting the modem to a Nighthawk LAN port only works if the modem is routing.  A LAN port from the CenturyLink modem needs to be connected to the Nighthawk's Internet port.  

Note that you can connect it up this way and get it working even if the modem isn't in bridge mode.  Some advanced functions (particularly port forwarding) become more difficult.  But you should be able to get internet connections up and running.  If routerlogin.net fails to connect, try switching over to 192.168.1.1.

Then you can switch the modem to bridge mode as a second step.