Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Nighthawk AC1750 setup stalls at routerlogin

i2ikombat
Aspirant

Nighthawk AC1750 setup stalls at routerlogin

Hi everyone. I'm a novice when it comes to this stuff so be nice. 😉 I just purchased the Nighthawk AC1750 along with the Netgear CM400 HS Cable Modem in order to replace the jinky one from Comcast. The modem connected no problem. Then I followed the written instruction to install the router. I messed up when it came to the ethernet cord and instead of taking the cord from the back of the computer and plugging into the router, I unplugged the cord from the modem and plugged it into the router. I figured that out when it came time to plug an ethernet into the computer to have a wired connection. So, I unplugged the ethernets and tried again. Then came time to get the browser up to put in the password and whatnot. Firefox opened up about 4 tabs on its own, each one trying to detect internet connection. Internet connection failed. I tried rebooting the modem, I checked all ethernet cords. Tabs continued to spontaneously open looking for a connection to the routerlogin.net page. I turned off the computer, unplugged everything and tried again, this time following the instructions correctly. Still have the same problem. I'm certain it's probably a simple mistake, but I'll be darned if I can figure it out. So...does anyone have a direction in which to send me? Thank you!

Model: R6700|Nighthawk AC1750 Smart WiFi Router
Message 1 of 6

Accepted Solutions
Retired_Member
Not applicable

Re: Nighthawk AC1750 setup stalls at routerlogin

When it opens the 2nd tab........ close both tabs.... and type 192.168.1.1

admin

password

go to setup....internet setup.....select use pc MAC address ....apply then power cycle modem router and PC

try clearing browser cache

View solution in original post

Message 4 of 6

All Replies
Retired_Member
Not applicable

reset router to defaults but first disconnect all cables except power

after the reset start over