× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Nighthawk Mesh WiFi

Welcome to the Nighthawk Mesh Community

Advanced Whole Home WiFi Click to Buy Nighthawk Mesh WiFi 6

MR60 performance issue in AP mode

Sputnik91
Aspirant

MR60 performance issue in AP mode

I have a Nighthawk AX1800 (MR60 and three MS60 satellites) that I have been using for several years now. Two of the three satellites use an Ethernet backhaul and I have been able to get around 600mbps next to the MR60 and wired MS60s consistently over that time. I decided to use the router built into my modem to utilize it's 2.5gb port (I have 1200mbps internet) so I put the AX1800 system into AP mode. Wireless speeds dropped by a third- I'm now getting around 400mbps. Nothing else has changed, I'm on the same wireless channels (though I have tried changing them and even disabling AX with not much of a difference). Devices connected to the MR60 via Ethernet by way of a switch are unaffected, still getting gigabit speeds. Any ideas to get speeds over wifi back to normal?
Message 1 of 11
FURRYe38
Guru

Re: MR60 performance issue in AP mode

Try a factory reset and setup from scratch then configure AP mode? 

What CAT# LAN cable are you using? CAT6 is commended. 

Be sure to disable any wifi radios on the ISP modem.

Message 2 of 11
Sputnik91
Aspirant

Thank you for your input. I've tried all of that, I'm using a cat6 cable. I did some testing in the same position next to the MR60 in AP mode, I got 468mbps. I enabled routing and ran another test, 687mbps in the same spot. I tried AP mode again and got 513mbps. I did one last test with routing and the result was 726mbps. I also did tests on a computer via Ethernet that goes through the MR60 each time and the results were always in the 900mbps range.
Message 3 of 11
FURRYe38
Guru

Sounds like router mode works best.

Message 4 of 11
FURRYe38
Guru

Wanted to test this as well:

MR Router mode: