× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

I want to ask about ax40 or ax80 before i buy it.

Rp4000
Aspirant

I want to ask about ax40 or ax80 before i buy it.

Ok I am in the market for a new router my router that I have been using since 2012 is getting old it's a dual band AC router.
My question is how well do these new AX routers work with older devices because I have only one device now s10+ that has wifi6.

Older devices wireless:
-iPhone 8
-iPad air
-Samsung galaxy 2012 tablet note 10.1
-Dell inspiron laptop i3
-Macbook pro 2009

Wired connects:
Android tv box
Smart tv
Nas server
Desktop computer

I am really confused at if I should get a new ax router or just buy another AC router.
Model: RAX40|Nighthawk AX4 4-Stream WiFi Router, RAX80|Nighthawk AX8 8-Stream WiFi Router
Message 1 of 10

Re: I want to ask about ax40 or ax80 before i buy it.

@Rp4000 wrote:
Ok I am in the market for a new router my router that I have been using since 2012 is getting old it's a dual band AC router.

Is it just the age that concerns you? Or is there something on your system that doesn't work?

Has your Internet service changed in ways that suggest that you need something newer?

@Rp4000 wrote:

I am really confused at if I should get a new ax router or just buy another AC router.

A good start would be to read the long list of messages about AX routers.

Message 2 of 10
Rp4000
Aspirant

The age of my devices most are ac/n devices . But I wanted a new ax type router but after reading alot of people complaints i had a lot of dought on buying a netgear . So how has the new firmware improved on the router or are there still alot of issues.
Message 3 of 10
Rp4000
Aspirant

The other reason why I want a new router is because max speed on my old router is 300MB
Message 4 of 10
digitsnbits
Apprentice