Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Any need to beef up my security for this?

donawalt
Virtuoso

Any need to beef up my security for this?

Hi all, I noticed in my router log this week for the first time, "Remote login failure". I only had about 5 of them for the week. Here is a sample, the IP addresses are all different countries - Macedonia, Netherlands, Russia....maybe the IP addresses are spoofed too? I don't know. Example:

[Remote login failure] from source 185.83.254.56, Wednesday, Jul 05,2023 18:04:58

So my question is this - what are the best practices to ensure I am protected from these? I have a very secure long obscure password for admin access to the router and separately for the WiFi password (which I don't think this is). Guest network is not enabled.  I have no port forwarding or triggering, no DDNS, VPN, static routes, or VLAN/Bridge. 

Anything else I should check or set up? Thanks! 

Message 1 of 31

Accepted Solutions
FURRYe38
Guru

Re: Any need to beef up my security for this?

Message 30 of 31

All Replies
F_V
Luminary
Luminary

I have one piece of security advice.  DO NOT allow router admin page access from the WAN side.  In other words, only allow logins from a device that is already associated with your LAN.  If you allow outside access, the router is going to get hammered 24/7/365.  If you are seeing login failures that you can't explain from within your network, it's already too late 🙂

That example IP you pasted has been very very busy, port scans, all sorts of random connection attempts going back months.

Message 2 of 31
donawalt
Virtuoso

Thanks @F_V for the tip. Question for you though, how do I prevent router admin page access from the WAN side? Since the router admin page has an internal IP address, don't I have to explicitly map that thorough? Or does this mean turn off Anywhere Access in the Orbi app?

Thanks!

Message 3 of 31
FURRYe38
Guru

FYI, NG removed WAN side support for access to the RBRs web page about two years ago. 

Message 4 of 31