Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Orbi RBR750 extremely slow WiFi

quezzz69
Guide

Hello everyone, I'm new to Orbi and the Netgear board but been browsing and trying all day to come up with a solution. Unfortunately without any luck.

I just moved into a new house, 3 stories and about 1300sqf. It's a newly built German house, so thick concrete and steel ceilings but the staircase from basement to the topfloor is open.

My ONT glasfibre modem is in the basement, a ethernet cable is hooked up to my ISP modem that is located in the living room.

When I'm connected to my ISP modem via WiFi I get full speed, actually more than fullspeed. I have 500mbit but usually get around 550mbit down and 150 upstream. 

My Orbi router is hooked up to the ISP modem via ethernet, the one that came with the Orbi devices. My 1st satelite is in the 2nd floor, about 30f away and my 2nd sateltite is on the 3rd floor, another 30f away from the 1st sateltite. My office is located on the 3rd floor and I got the satelite in my office. However, I only get 2.5mbit - 50mbit MAX which is super frustrating. The 2nd floor gets around 70mbit.

I tried several suggested settings today, such as setting 2.4GHz to channel 6, 5GHz to 40, disabled armor, IPv6, unchecked 20/40Mhz Coexistence, set short preamble instead of long preamble modes, CTS and RTS values from 64 to 2347 and so on. It actually made it worst because at first when I set up the system I was getting around 170mbit on the second floor and around 100-120mbit on the 3rd floor. I switched back to standard settings again but the speed I'm receiving still is horrible. 

My Firmware Version V4.6.9.11_2.3.5

And I see around 4-5 WiFi networks from neighbours, only weak signal and only from the ground floor.