Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

RBS750 Satellite won't connect to router

JohnDucker
Tutor

RBS750 Satellite won't connect to router

I have an RBR750 and three RBS satellites running the latest firmware. Has been stable for about six months, but recently one satellite lost contact to the router. Ring LED solid magenta. I have tried rebooting satellite and router (both in the same room) and also performed a factory reset on the satellite, but still will not connect. Any ideas?

I am pretty un-technical so please bear with me!

Thanks

Message 1 of 15

Accepted Solutions
JohnDucker
Tutor

Re: RBS750 Satellite won't connect to router

I am no expert but I just solved my problem as follows:

1. Brought faulty satellite into same room as RBR750 router

2. Plugged satellite in and waited for a solid white light (appreciate yours is flashing - maybe just wait two mins for boot up then try the next step anyway)

3. Pressed factory reset button with paper clip and held it depressed for 20s. The power LED flashes red after about 5s but I kept it depressed. Release paper clip - satellite ring LED falshes white.

4. When ring LED went solid white on satellite, I pressed sync button on satellite, then on router. Both ring LEDs flash white.

5. After about 90 secs the satellite showed up on the app network map and on the device map on the router web page. Satellite ring LED went solid blue (A GOOD THING!)

6. I checked the firmware version on the webpage and my satellite was out of date, so I went through a firmware update. This disconnected the satellite again, so I had to repeat steps 1.- 5. and this time the satellite stayed connected with the right FW version

Hope this helps

View solution in original post

Message 10 of 15

All Replies
FURRYe38
Guru

Did you turn OFF the other RBS and bring the one RBS to same room as the RBR to try to sync it? 

Do you know if all RBS have same FW version loaded? 

Message 2 of 15
JohnDucker
Tutor