Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: SYNOLOGY NAS unable to connect to internet through Orbi 960 Satellite when connected directly to

rob_bart
Aspirant

SYNOLOGY NAS unable to connect to internet through Orbi 960 Satellite when connected directly to it

Orbi Mesh WiFi 6E System - AXE11000 - 3 pack - Black (RBKE963B)

Firmware: V6.3.7.10_3.3.3 

I have been using Orbis for several years now and recently migrated from a Orbi 5 to a Orbi 6E system when the it was released.  It works just fine, having devices all over the house that use WI-FI and have no issues.  I have a satellite on the 3rd floor (my office), the Router on the 1st floor directly connected to the Cable Modem, and another satellite in the basement.  I have great service throughout the house.

I recently  (a month or so ago) acquired a Synology 1522+ NAS. I have it in my office, on the 3rd floor, sitting next to my main PC and an ESXi server which are connected to a managed switch, a TRENDnet 10-Port Multi-Gig Web Smart Switch (TEG-3102WS) connecting all my devices.  The Switch is attached to the satellite.  I have an additional a work laptop connected to the satellite via WI-FI. I have added the 10gb NIC to the NAS.

The main issue is that the NAS will not connect to the internet.

Using 1 NIC on the NAS, no matter whether I connect it directly to the Orbi Satellite, or the switch  it is unable to connect to the internet.

Wanting to take advantage of the 10gb (2.5gb really) speeds, I had purchased and installed the 10gb Synology NIC upgrade.  So, there are 4-1GB nics, and 1-10GB NIC.  I have tried the different NICS and combinations of the 10G NIC and the 1GB NICs.

With the NAS connected to the switch, I can access it from my PC sitting right next to it.  I have moved over 7TBs of data to it. The NAS however, cannot access the internet.