Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

AT&T Fiber (Internet 1000 Service) - Orbi WiFi download speed <100Mbps while AT&T NVG599 > 300Mbps

2orbified
Aspirant

AT&T Fiber (Internet 1000 Service) - Orbi WiFi download speed <100Mbps while AT&T NVG599 > 300Mbps

I'm a bit perplexed on this one.  I have some knowledge on networking but since the Orbi is pretty much locked down, I'm not sure there is anything to do but move away from the Orbi.

My challenge (or question):  The Orbi's WiFi (with 2 satellites) is much slower, consistently, than the AT&T provided NVG599 router's WiFi...

AT&T Fiber Internet 1000 Service

All tests on 5 GHz. (Orbi @ 40 MHz and NVG599 @ 80MHz.  I can set the bandwidth on the NVG599 but not on the Orbi).

NVG599 in bridge mode/WiFi off when using/testing the Orbi.

Devices:  Macbook Pro (802.11ac), iPhone X, iPad Pro 12

WiFi Speeds

Orbi:  50 to 80Mbps download 

Orbi iOS app: speed test shows 300+ Mbps (my understanding is that's not a WiFi test)

NVS599: 300 Mbps or higher download(s)

Seems the Orbi WiFi should be able to at least match the AT&T provided NVG599 -- or is this a simple problem with a simple solution - just buy another router that has more power than the NVG599 and provides for configuration settings by the user (and dump the Orbi)?

Model: RBR50| Orbi AC3000 Tri-band WiFi (Router Only)
Message 1 of 6
guzzijason
Apprentice

Re: AT&T Fiber (Internet 1000 Service) - Orbi WiFi download speed <100Mbps while AT&T NVG

Yes, you should be getting better speeds than that. My 2015 Macbook (non-pro) regularly sees ~550 Mbps over the Orbi.

One thing to check: make sure that WMM is always enabled in the advanced wireless settings, otherwise you'll never see wireless-n or ac speeds (both of which require WMM). If you switch that off, it will severely hobble the WiFi speeds.

Message 2 of 6
2orbified
Aspirant