Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Can I combine C7100V AC1900 Modem+Router with Orbi Mesh RBK53S-100NAS?

WiFeeFiFoFum
Aspirant

Can I combine C7100V AC1900 Modem+Router with Orbi Mesh RBK53S-100NAS?

I currently have Xfinity/Comcast WiFi using a Nighthawk AC1900/C7100v cable modem + router, however, because I live in a large home, the coverage falls a little short. After multiple attempts to improve coverage by changing the location of the modem/router, I want to try a mesh setup, specifically the Orbi Mesh RBK53S-100NAS (NETGEAR Orbi Whole Home Mesh WiFi System, with Advanced Cyber Threat Protection, 3-pack). Having suffered through AT&T WiFi for many years, I have a slightly higher Tech IQ than the average homeowner, but I'm by no means an expert, which is why I wanted to seek some assistance here.

1. Is it possible to make the C7100v play nice with the Orbi Mesh, and, if so, how? (I expect it's more difficult than simply disabling the WiFi function of the C7100v and plugging the Orbi Router into one of the LAN ports, thus allowing the Orbi Router and satellites to provide the WiFi signal on my network. That seems far too simple.)

2. If the solution involves putting the C7100v into bridge mode, please help me understand how that is accomplished, i.e., would I need to seek assistance from Xfinity tech support to accomplish this?

3. We're a Mac household that make use of Apple Home Kit to operate WeMo switches using a WeMo Hub plugged into the router. Also, we have an Arlo Pro 2 security camera system, which I was hoping would be improved by strengthening the WiFi signal of our network. Will any of these uses be negatively impacted by adding the aforementioned Orbi Mesh system to our network?

Thank you in advance for your help. 

Model: C7100V-1AZNAS|Nighthawk AC1900 WiFi Cable Modem Router
Message 1 of 5

Accepted Solutions