Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Can you use Orbi AC3000 satellite with AC2200 system or create dual networks with DOC 3.1?

sctybones
Initiate

Can you use Orbi AC3000 satellite with AC2200 system or create dual networks with DOC 3.1?

Can you use Orbi AC3000 satellite with AC2200 system or create dual networks with DOC 3.1?  I was getting dead zones wtih AC3000 and bought AC2200. I hate to throw out the $400 AC300 and wanted to try and use at least a satellite with the AC2200? Or maybe via XFINITY and my 3.1 modem, create a second network within my home? Thanks -

NOte - i am not technical at all - any layman help would be appreciated

Model: RBK30| Orbi AC2200 WiFi System, RBK50| Orbi AC3000 High-Performance Tri-Band WiFi System
Message 1 of 2
FURRYe38
Guru

Re: Can you use Orbi AC3000 satellite with AC2200 system or create dual networks with DOC 3.1?

You can use any RBS satellite between the RBK20, 30, 40 and 50 series systesm. It's best to keep RBS20 and 30 and 40 series with the same 20/30/40 series systems as the connection rates are all the same between the router and satellite. The RBS50 and RBK50 systems have higher connection rates and its best to use RBS50 with RBR50 systems. 

DOCSIS is a cable modem only protcol standard. Something the RBK systems don't work with in. RBK systems connect to any ISP Modem, cable, DSL or Fibert ONT device which interfaces with the ISP services.