× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Changing router from R6220 AC-1200 to Netgear Orbi RBK20

avinashtauro
Aspirant

Changing router from R6220 AC-1200 to Netgear Orbi RBK20

I have been using the R6220 AC-1200 router since about 3 years and it was perfect for my small apartment. I just moved to a larger apartment, and during the move something broke. Now the router keeps shutting down the Wifi signal, with the Wifi LED going off 5-10 times a day. I have to go press the Wifi button on the router. This turns on the wifi temporarily.

Another problem I have is range with my 200 Mbps internet. Around corners from my router, my internet speed goes down to 20-30 Mbps in two spots in the new home. I found out that router manages to penetrate single concrete walls ok, with minimal loss, but around corners it is bad.

Now I am wondering if I should get a regular router like the Netgear AZB01LFSDZCU 300 Mbps Router. Will this have better penetration through concrete walls.

Or should  I get the Netgear Orbi Mesh RBK20 (1 router + 1 satellite). It costs only a little more. The satellite will ensure good coverage at those low internet zones. 1 problem I could potentially have with the Orbi, is that I also need to put up the router on the wall. Are wall mounts for the Orbi available for purchase in India.

Model: CBR40|Orbi AC2200 Tri-band WiFi Cable Modem Router
Message 1 of 4
CrimpOn
Guru

Re: Changing router from R6220 AC-1200 to Netgear Orbi RBK20

@avinashtauro wrote:

Now I am wondering if I should get a regular router like the Netgear AZB01LFSDZCU 300 Mbps Router. Will this have better penetration through concrete walls.