Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Orbi periodically lose internet connection

lolongan
Aspirant

Orbi periodically lose internet connection

Hi everyone,

I used to have only an internet box which acts as modem and router.

Recently I bought the Orbi RBK852 Mesh System and set it up in router mode behind the internet box, the latter being also in router mode, but with Wifi shut-off.

Everything is great, speed is multiplied by 5 times at least, except one issue: the Orbi router periodically, once a day in average, loses internet connection (the led goes magenta solid). Since I'm not an expert , the only fix I found is to switch the internet box off and on and everything is back OK.. until the next day. The annoyance is when I'm away from home and cannot access to the internet box to switch it off and on. Then I lose all my remote connection to the smart home devices that I have.

Does someone have any idea of what is the cause of the issue and how to fix it permanently without having to switch off and on the internetbox manually ?

Note that before installing the Orbi system, I did not experience such issue.

Thanks.

lolongan

Message 1 of 8

Accepted Solutions
FURRYe38
Guru

Putting the Orbi in AP mode would be simplest and best way for you. This would disable the DHCP services on the Orbi. You will not need to use DMZ or IP passthru on the modem when using AP mode on the Orbi. You need to maintain a level of security at the modem for the Orbi in ap mode.

https://kb.netgear.com/26765/Disabled-Features-on-the-Router-when-set-to-AP-Mode

View solution in original post

Message 8 of 8

All Replies
FURRYe38
Guru

What Firmware version is currently loaded?