× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

GS308E Speed problem

GS308E Speed problem

I have google fiber for my ISP.  The line coming into the house is connected to a Google Wifi point serving as a modem.  There is an ethernet port on the Google Wifi that I have plugged into my GS308E (into port 😎 and I can see that the speed coming into the switch is 1000M but the two connections I have out to other PCs in the house are only showing 100M (set to auto) and there is no option to select 1000M.  I am using cat 5e cable, (which I built myself) which from what I've read should be sufficient for a 1000M connection.  Is this problem being caused by my cables or am I missing something else?  I'm a novice to this so I apologize if I am asking dumb questions.  I appreciate any advice you can give me

Thank you

novicenetwork

Model: GS308E|8 Port Gigabit Ethernet Smart Managed Plus Switch
Message 1 of 12

Accepted Solutions
plemans
Guru

Re: GS308E Speed problem

Glad to see it was a cable issue. 

You might mark it solved so others aren't still trying to fix it then 🙂

I haven't had a whole lot of issues with cat 6 cables but cat 5e its been hit or miss. 

View solution in original post

Message 9 of 12

All Replies
plemans
Guru

do your computer support gigabit?

try using a good quality cat 6 cable. I've seen sketchy cat 5e default back to the 10/100mbps and not gigabit. 

Not saying you do sketchy work but it only takes a poor crimp or strip to cause issues. 

Message 2 of 12

Thank you for the reply.  Both PCs that I am wired to support gigabit.  I think I might have some cat6 patch cables around.  I can give that a try.  I hope that's not the problem, I already have some cat 5e cable and crimps that I was planning on using.  

Message 3 of 12
plemans
Guru