× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Disable wi-fi on C3700, but not ethernet ports

jrrisk
Tutor

Disable wi-fi on C3700, but not ethernet ports

I have my internet coming through my C3700 router, but due to the size of my home needed to set up a mesh network with 3 extender access points. When I did that, I now have three networks - the 2.4g, the 5g, and the mesh. My ISP suggested that I might want to disable the wi-fi on the 2.4g and 5g and only use the mesh to improve my connectivity. The tech said to make sure i do not disable my ports, but only the wi-fi. Can someone tell me how I actually do this or direct me to a resource, maybe a YouTuibe video that is simple and easy to understand. I am not tech savvy and have to call customer service to do almost anything related to computers. Even setting up a simple printer through the easy set-up guide did not work the way it was supposed to.

Thanks.

James

Model: C3700|N600 Cable Gateway Docsis 3.0
Message 1 of 5

Accepted Solutions
antinode
Guru

Re: Disable wi-fi on C3700, but not ethernet ports

> [...] C3700 [...]

C3700 or C3700v2?  Look for "Model" on the product label.

> [...] direct me to a resource, [...]

Visit http://netgear.com/support , put in your (actual) model number,
and look for Documentation.  Get the User Manual (at least).  Read.
Look for a topic like "Control the Wireless Radios".

View solution in original post

Message 2 of 5

All Replies
antinode
Guru

> [...] C3700 [...]

C3700 or C3700v2?  Look for "Model" on the product label.

> [...] direct me to a resource, [...]

Visit http://netgear.com/support , put in your (actual) model number,
and look for Documentation.  Get the User Manual (at least).  Read.
Look for a topic like "Control the Wireless Radios".

Message 2 of 5
jrrisk
Tutor

Thank you. The model is a C3700. Not C3700v2.