× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

EX6150v2 - incorrect password

EX6150v2 - incorrect password

I just got a new modem from CenturyLink. Set it up ok. Gave it a new password. Re-booted the extender (EX6150v2) and that seems to be ok. BUT when I try to connect on my phone, it keeps telling me "incorrect password"! So, I re-booted both the new modemand the extender andd the same thing happens!

I have tried the old, original password, the new password that I set up for the modem, the admin password from the modem, the Security Key from the new modem.

I am not technically savy at all. But when I first got the extender a few years ago, I set it up with no problems.

HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thanks!

glass-goddess

Message 1 of 8

Accepted Solutions
plemans
Guru

Re: EX6150v2 - incorrect password

You can change the centurylink's ssid and password to whatever you prefer. 

https://www.centurylink.com/home/help/internet/modems-and-routers/wireless-setup/wireless-security.h...

you'd need to reinstall/change it on  the extender and device after changing it though. 

View solution in original post

Message 8 of 8

All Replies
plemans
Guru

Factory reset the extender. Push and hold reset for 7-15 seconds while its powered on. The lights will change/flash when held long enough. The reinstall using the installation assistant and NOT WPS.

Wps can cause issues with isp supplied devices (crappy coding). 

https://www.netgear.com/support/product/EX6150v2.aspx

Message 2 of 8

HI

Thanks for your reply. I'm still having problems.This is the third day trying to get it to work.