× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Clear deleted files from N102

protem48
Aspirant

Clear deleted files from N102

I'm relatively new to using a NAS device. I have an N102 set up as Raid 1 with 3 TB of storage. AFter about 12 months use the UI reported only about 400 MB of space left across all volumes and i decided to delete a large number of files which i did from Windows Explorer via a mapped drive letter which points to one of the shares. I used shift-delete as i would on a local PC drive to bypass any recycle bin type activity. The files disappeared from Explorer but the UI still reported only the same 400 MB of available space. Looking at the graphical representation of volume usage (Data) more than half the used space is taken up by snapshots. Is this where the deletions have gone? If so, how do i clear down the snapshots? Can i prevent them being generated at all, or even specify which shares i would like to be snapshotted?

I've looked throughout the UI but can't find any way to clear or manage snapshots.

Any guidance gratefully received.

Message 1 of 8

Accepted Solutions
protem48
Aspirant

Re: Clear deleted files from N102

Have now worked my way through all 10 shares and cleared all snapshots. Resulted in a dramatic increase in free space - an extra 2 TB. These snapshots had been accumulating over the past 2 years. I will have to assume that the deleted files went into the snapshots although i can't really figure out how that would have worked.