× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

ReadyNas Nv+ 2, How to useMax storage.

khyretos
Aspirant

ReadyNas Nv+ 2, How to useMax storage.

Hi There.

I am a complete beginner when it comes to NAS so i apoligize for my ignorance beforehand.

I recently got gifted a ReadyNas NV+ 2 (RND4000-200EUS) with 2x 3TB drives.

It currently has RAIDiator 5.3.12 running.

It works and i can connect it to my linux server no problem. My only issue is that it keeps formatting my drives as 1 with 1 as a backup/redundancy. I do not want this.

I want it to give me 1 drive with the max capacity. So 5.4TB of space. I tried setting it to Flex-Raid 0 and when its done with the factory reset it appears as Flex 5, i tried JOBD and it still makes it raid 5, i tried just entering 1 drive in Raid 0 but then it makes an individual drive of each one (which defeats the purpose of what i am trying to achieve). I also have an extra 1TB drive but this makes everything worse because if i factory reset it it appears as 1.8TB (i understand it has to do with how the space is divided in a RAID setup) but this is very frustrating not to mention that each factory reset is as slow as my grandma walking downstairs.

I think that i am doing something wrong here. What do i have to do to make it use all the drives i put in and give me the max amount of space?

Is there a trick to this?

is there a way to do this through SSH directly maybe?

I am at a los, i have scowered through this forum to see what i can find but i have had no luck in making it work as i want.

Message 1 of 8

Accepted Solutions
khyretos
Aspirant

Re: ReadyNas Nv+ 2, How to useMax storage.

I Solved my issue.

Using the older RAIDar version (4.3.8) did make the process faster but it still made separate drives (using JBOD) but that is ok because i found a solution to my particular case, here is what i have:

khyretos_0-1714421233722.png

So i have 3 drives: