× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Unable to delete folder on NAS

howardg1
Aspirant

Unable to delete folder on NAS

I am a newbie at this but would very much appreciate some help. I am trying to delete (using Vista) an empty folder on my ReadyNAS. I get an error in Vista: "Destination Folder Access Denied - You need permission to perform this action." I try to change ownership in Vista but get nowhere. I am guessing it has to do with permissions on my folder on the NAS. Under Frontview the share name is media. Under advanced options the Share Folder Owner is listed as "nobody" and the Share Folder Group is listed as "nogroup." What do I need to do to get this in order so I will be the owner of these folder under Vista? Thank you.

-Howard
Message 1 of 64
ewok
NETGEAR Expert

Re: Unable to delete folder on NAS

Which security mode are you using? This information should be available in the Security page in Frontview. Some models of ReadyNAS do not support security modes, so if you don't see it in the Security page, let me know which model you're using.
Message 2 of 64
howardg1
Aspirant

ewok wrote:
Which security mode are you using? This information should be available in the Security page in Frontview. Some models of ReadyNAS do not support security modes, so if you don't see it in the Security page, let me know which model you're using.

thank you so much for your reply -- I am out of the country for a family funeral until Feb 5th so I hope you can wait until then for me to reply.
Message 3 of 64
howardg1
Aspirant

I was able to look up my order info on NewEgg. I have this model: NETGEAR ReadyNAS Duo RND2150 500GB. I added a second hard drive for a RAID1 config: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3500320AS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA. I will be able to monitor this thread from where I am, but I have no access to the NAS until Feb. 5th. Thank you!
Message 4 of 64
ewok
NETGEAR Expert