NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Forum Discussion
TheDutchmanJon
Jun 16, 2016Aspirant
Unable to delete Phantom Snapshots on ReadyNas 102
Hello All
I have a Ready NAS 102 with 1.8Tbytes total available space. It Shows 1.11Tbyte being used by Snapshots , however none of the shares have Snapshots turned on, so there aren't any snapshots that are available for deletion. The Snapshots appear to orphaned after previouisly deleting a share. It is running the latest firmware 6.5.0. I have run Scrub and balance from the Volume/ Settings menu but these didn't reduce the size of the snapshots. Even changing the automatic pruning to 50% from 95 % hasn't resulterd in any reduction in snapshots.
It looks like the file system has become corrupted. Any advice on how to overcome this issue. I have also used SSH access to try and discover the location of these snapshot files but the file listing doesn't show anything.
The final step appears to be to wipe the drives and perform a factory reset but this shouldn't be necessary. Other posts on this issue have failed to offer a workable solution.
Do you have a backup of your data?
It appears you have some snapshots that were not upgraded (this is a one-off upgrade) when you updated from 6.1.4 to 6.2.4.
These snapshots also were not removed when you deleted the shares they are on.Seeing you last factory reset on 6.1.4 I would recommend you backup your data, do a factory reset (wipes all data, settings, everything) and restore your data from backup. There was an important filesystem change in 6.1.5 that you can only get when creating a new volume.
With a 2TB volume you should keep volume usage under 80%.
3 Replies
Replies have been turned off for this discussion
- mdgm-ntgrNETGEAR Employee Retired
Can you send in your logs (see the Sending Logs link in my sig)?
- mdgm-ntgrNETGEAR Employee Retired
Do you have a backup of your data?
It appears you have some snapshots that were not upgraded (this is a one-off upgrade) when you updated from 6.1.4 to 6.2.4.
These snapshots also were not removed when you deleted the shares they are on.Seeing you last factory reset on 6.1.4 I would recommend you backup your data, do a factory reset (wipes all data, settings, everything) and restore your data from backup. There was an important filesystem change in 6.1.5 that you can only get when creating a new volume.
With a 2TB volume you should keep volume usage under 80%.
- TheDutchmanJonAspirant
Thanks you support team. The factory reset cleared all the phantom snaphots and it is now all clear.
Related Content
- Jun 06, 2017Retired_Member
NETGEAR Academy
Boost your skills with the Netgear Academy - Get trained, certified and stay ahead with the latest Netgear technology!
Join Us!