Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: CM1000V2 DS light flashing but internet connection is great

Saint_Dad
Aspirant

CM1000V2 DS light flashing but internet connection is great

A couple of weeks ago the downstream light on my CM1000v2 started flashing.  I've been using this modem since March of 2020.  The light becomes solid green with a reboot, but it only lasts for 1 to 4 days.  Called the ISP (Xfinity) support and they claimed the line was fine up to the modem and therefore my modem was the likely problem.  I purchased another CM1000v2 and it displays the same issue after 2 days.  Connection shows 32 downstream bonded channels locked with correctable codewords = 0, and Uncorrectable = 0.  Downstream OFDM Channels has 1 locked with correctable codewords = 1558088684, and Uncorrectable = 3.  I have speed tested and am getting and average download speed of 940 Mbps and no connection issues.  I'm curious if the blinking DS light is a result of the 10.01.07 FW update, and simply a firmware bug with no effect on performance.  My wife relies on our network for work, so I'm trying to get ahead of any possible problems.  

Message 1 of 7

Accepted Solutions
Saint_Dad
Aspirant

Problem solved.  Replace the section of coax in the attic.  The connectors were installed poorly. Used a quality quad shied rg6 and compression connectors.

View solution in original post

Message 6 of 7

All Replies
olympos1625
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Hi @Saint_Dad,

Good day!

Thank you for reaching out. The blinking light behavior on the downstream LED indicates that the modem is scanning for a downstream channel same goes for the upstream LED if it will have the same behavior. You may check this information from the link below page 6:

https://www.downloads.netgear.com/files/GDC/CM1000/CM1000_UM_EN.pdf

Please do not hesitate to let me know if you need further assistance. 

Regards,

Oliver

Community Team

Message 2 of 7
Kitsap
Master

@Saint_Dad wrote: