Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Intermittent connection problems

maccola
Follower

Intermittent connection problems

I am looking for help diagnosing intermittent connectivity issues with my CM1000 modem.  I am not sure what clues I should be looking for and I have not been able to detect any patterns to indicate cause.  Let me offer some details…

I am an Xfinity customer in my home, and I have been using a Netgear CM1000 modem for around 6 months.  Everything worked great for the first 5 months.  However, the last month I have been getting hit with maddening intermittent connection problems.  I lose all internet connectivity and cannot ping anything on the internet for short periods of time.  These issues usually just last a minute or two, but sometimes as long as 5 minutes.  Network connectivity eventually comes back without any intervention from me.  Some days I have no connectivity issues, other days it happens several times (usually in the most in-opportune times!).  I have not noticed any change in the modem lights when this occurs.  When I call Xfinity/Comcast support their only suggestion is to reboot the modem.  That usually causes the connection to be restored, but I don’t think that is really fixing anything – like I said the connection issues usually only last a minute or two anyways.

The agent I talked to at Comcast said she cannot see anything else on her end.  Since I own my own modem, she stated it will likely cost me money to have a tech come out and look at it.  Before I break down and have someone come out, I wanted to search for some evidence that is or is not a modem problem.  I’m not against buying a new modem either, but am going to be frustrated if I have the same problems.