Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: R7800 cannot administer over ethernet cable

embed
Aspirant

R7800 cannot administer over ethernet cable

I am trying to install new firmware on my new R7800. Unfortunately I don't seem to be able to connect to it from my computer using the Ethernet cable. It sounds very like a problem other users have had eg https://community.netgear.com/t5/Nighthawk-WiFi-Routers/nighthawk-X4S-AC2600-model-R7800-not-connect... however the fix seems to be to do a factory reset. I have tried this and still no joy. I'm using a mac to connect and if I go into Finder I can see "r7800" as connected. If I click on it I get asked to "Connect as" and put in a username and password. Trying the device's username and password doesn't work, nor does the one for my profile on the mac. The same username and password works perfectly if I try and connect wirelessly, however I don't want to install the firmware over wifi!

Any advice would be very welcomed, I'm really not an expert at this kind of thing so am convinced I'm missing something obvious! 

Model: R7800|Nighthawk X4S AC2600 WiFi Router
Message 1 of 16

Accepted Solutions
FURRYe38
Guru

Is the mode of the 7800 actually set for AP mode or router mode? 

If you have the 7800 in AP mode, the the 7800 should be connected to the main host router via one of it's LAN ports in back to one of the LAN ports on the main host router. Do not use the WAN or Internet Port on the 7800. When in AP mode and using LAN to LAN connections to the main host router, log in to the main host routers web page and look at the connnected clients table to see what IP address the 7800 is getting from the main host router. Use this IP address to access the 7800s web page. 

View solution in original post

Message 10 of 16

All Replies
AhnFire
Guide