Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Cannot login to AC2300 router

chrisowen
Aspirant

Cannot login to AC2300 router

2 days ago I bought a used router, a NETGEAR Nighthawk AC2300 Cybersecurity Dual-Band Wi-Fi Router - RS400-100NAS.

and I have been trying to login since then. Insane isnt it. I have been doing this for 30 years but this one has me beat. 

Internet connectivity works fine for LAN and 5G wifi using the credentials on the botton of the box.

I was at the beginning able to get to the login page with a wired laptop and it asked me for the previous owners email and password which i didnt have. Then it asked me for the password hints which I didnt have. Since then I have never got back to the login page.

I tried reset about 20 times.

I had to resort to wi-fi connectivity and windows shows the router is at 192.168.0.32, but that didnt work either.

I dont own a phone to use the nighthawk app.

I managed to register it at Netgear under my email address instead of the previous owners, but that didnt seem to make any difference because I cannot get to the login page, at least with wifi.

I tried www.routerlogin.com and .net. also the api address also. nothing gets me to the login page. 

Now I ask you is this really the best we can do design wise in the 21st century? Did they even try to debug their code at all?

Model: RS400|Nigthhawk AC2300 Cybersecurity WiFi Router
Message 1 of 7

Accepted Solutions
chrisowen
Aspirant

Re: Cannot login to AC2300 router

I did the full factory reset. Then I again used my Dell work laptop to access the login page with a LAN cable.

I used IPCONFIG to find and try all the IP Addresses.

Then I tried all the IP addresses also routerlogin.net, also tried both chrome and edge also turned the firewalls off.

Not one of these things would allow me to connect to the router. 

In desperation I took the whole upstairs setup apart and brought it downstairs to my personal desktop.

192.168.1.1 connected immediately.