Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

ORBI RBR50 Internet Connection keeps Dropping

myfathersson
Aspirant

ORBI RBR50 Internet Connection keeps Dropping

Hi,

Model: ORBI RBR50 w/ 1 sat

Firmware: V2.0.0.74

First, I appologize for starting yet another thread on this subject. Second, I'm not a network expert...know enough to be dangerous.

As others have noted, the internet connection keeps dropping.  It happens regularly on my Win7 laptop and my LG G4 android phone.  The lan connection remains in tact, just the internet connection is lost.  To get internet back I have to force reconnection to the lan by disconnecting and reconnecting on my Win7 unit or shutting off and turning back on the wifi on my phone; reconnection is to the internet is fixed immediately after these actions, connected is re-established.  I noticed last night for the first time that it also dropped my internet connection to my Bell sat receiver (I have a USB wifi dongle connected to the receiver); though I should also point out in all fairness that I have only had the one disconnect on the Bell sat so it could have been an actual problem with the Bell Crave TV site.  I have not seen the issue yet on my Roku devices or other devices on the lan.  So far my wife has not noticed her Win10 labtop having this issue.

I forced my laptop and phone to "forget" the lan connection so that I would have to re-enter the lan password and have the units set up a fresh connction.  This did not help.

I have not done a factory reset on the ORBI.

I searched the forum but the solution seems to be to upgrade the firmware to v1.12.0.18, which is older than my current version, so that's not a solution.