Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Wireless VLAN and / or Bridge setup

FishMacaroni
Follower

Wireless VLAN and / or Bridge setup

Ok, I'm sorry to sound like a noob but I'm a noob.  Please don't hurt me.  

I'm trying to run a low budget smart home and I've got two Orbi AC2200 systems comprised of the following.  2 RBR20, 2 RBW30, and 1 RBS40 (purchased as two separate systems at two different times - the second being simply a crime of opportunity).  

At peak usage, I've got about 70 devices on the network with approximately 25-30 of those being WiZ smart bulbs.  Another dozen+ are Amazon Alexa devices of some variety.  

At it's most simple, I'd like to set something up where the smart home things are alone on their own VLAN or network - Ring Security, bulbs and door lock - and leave the televisions and computing devices on their own VLAN or network as well.  I only have one ISP with one cable modem.  Coverage is pretty good using only an RBR20 and the RBS40 (the other set is still NIB) but we suffer intermittent slowdowns on all televisions and Alexa speakers and I'd like to eliminate that.

My original plan was to use the second Orbi purchase which included the two RBW30s and just use those to add a couple more satellites to my current setup but I'm afraid that won't do much to help the network (but it could certainly take some of the strain off of the satellite that is feeding roughly 40-50 devices at any given time).  I think VLAN's would be optimal but I don't know if that's possible utilizing Orbi - It seems I can only create VLAN's for devices wired into my router.  

With the bridging capability ... Could I setup the "other" router setup (an RBR20 and 2 RBW30's) as a second network but have the second router bridge the two networks?  Would my network see some relief?  

Please don't hammer me too hard, and thank you for your help.