Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Everything works...except Netflix (Orbi RBR50 v2)

mr_taint
Aspirant

Everything works...except Netflix (Orbi RBR50 v2)

I'm an IT Professional, and my buddy hit me up the other day having an issue with his new home WiFi setup.  Turns out he got an RBR50 v2, and a Satellite.

Everything working just great -- no problems.  Except one.  Netflix won't work.  Throws error:

tvq-st-106

In his case, this is on any of several Gen 2 Amazon fire sticks that he has in his house.

I tried to troubleshoot it with him the other day, to no avail, and went over there today, and left unsuccessful.

Everything else works fine, and without issue, only Netflix giving him grief.  I tested on my laptop on the WiFi -- no dice.  The site loads, but none of the images do, and sometimes you can get a video to start, but it always craps out pretty quickly.

I hooked up wired to his Orbi -- same thing.  I hooked up straight to his modem, and it worked fine, everything loaded as expected.  What's even weirder though, is I tried DMZ'ing one of his Fire sticks, and it still doesn't work.  The "Armor" or whatever it's called security is disabled.  I tried several different DNS options, but none of them made a difference going through the router.

I also tried:

Toggling WMM on and off

IPV6 set to disabled

Turned off DoS attack protection

Guest network is diabled, checking the access control and all devices are set to allowed. uPnP is on, and again, literally everything else internet related works fine.  (Firesticks stream other video just fine, PS4's work and can play online, Websites load normally, etc.)

FWIW he's using an Arris SB8200 (also new) and his ISP is WOW! in SE Michigan.  He said he factory reset it the other day (I ran out of time today and didn't have a chance to try this myself).