Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

How to configure/set up Netgear Nighthawk AC1900/C7000 modem router with Orbi?

CynDaVaz
Tutor

How to configure/set up Netgear Nighthawk AC1900/C7000 modem router with Orbi?

From my understanding, I have to disable the "router" function of my Nighthawk cable modem router in order to use it with Orbi. But what does that mean? Just turning off the wireless function? Or something else? And is turning off the wifi on the modem router as simple as just disabling SSID broadcast? Or is it something else? I'm not a computer novice, but networking stuff does confuse me sometimes. 😕  

Message 1 of 15

Accepted Solutions

Re: How to configure/set up Netgear Nighthawk AC1900/C7000 modem router with Orbi?

@CynDaVaz wrote:

Thanks so much for the quick reply! It's not an R7000 - it's a C7000 (the modem/router combo) - so I can't ditch the whole thing altogether because it's a modem too. That doesn't change your recommendation, though, does it? 

ok so its the same thing just run the c7000 as it is and just disable its wifi and run the orbi system behind it in AP

no the speeds over wifi and ethernet will be the same wether its in router mode of AP mode

the reason to run the orbi in AP mode is to avoid a dual nat situation which causes issues with UPnP and port forwarding

--------

you could possibly bridge the c7000 so its acts as just a pure modem and run the orbi in router mode but i cant tell you how or if the c7000 can be sucessfully bridged

however if you look at the link below it shows you how to put the c7000 into bridge mode

http://www.downloads.netgear.com/files/GDC/C7000/C7000_Comcast_UM_27apr15.pdf

on page 11

this too will remove the dual nat issue

---------------------------