Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Orbi RBK13 Ports

jhughes
Aspirant

Orbi RBK13 Ports

I just bought the Orbi RBK13 Mesh system thinking it was an upgrade.  However, I work from home and need to connect my VoIP phone and printer/scanner to my router. This doesn't have ports for that.  Is there something I can add to the router to connect these or will this system not work for me??  I'm not very tech savvy so I hope I worded this correctly.

Message 1 of 16
FURRYe38
Guru

Re: Orbi RBK13 Ports

Yes you can add a external 1Gb LAN switch to the back of the RBR for expanding LAN ports.

NG GS105 or 108 would work. 

https://www.downloads.netgear.com/files/GDC/datasheet/en/GS105v3-GS108v3.pdf

Message 2 of 16
CrimpOn
Guru

@jhughes wrote:

I just bought the Orbi RBK13 Mesh system thinking it was an upgrade.  However, I work from home and need to connect my VoIP phone and printer/scanner to my router. This doesn't have ports for that.  Is there something I can add to the router to connect these or will this system not work for me??  I'm not very tech savvy so I hope I worded this correctly.

@FURRYe38is correct.  Rather than "ports", the RBK10 has one gigabit port. Connect a dumb gigabit switch to this port and suddenly you have 5, 8, or... (whatever size switch) ports.

Everybody sells them.  Best Buy has models by Linksys, Netgear, etc. starting at $23US.

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/searchpage.jsp?st=gigabit+switch+8-port&_dyncharset=UTF-8&_dynSessConf=...  as do Staples, OfficeDepot, and (of course) Amazon.

A five port switch costs the least, but leaves you with only two open ports (1 for Orbi, 1 for VoiP phone, 1 for Printer). The 8 port switches seem to be the "sweet spot" in terms of cost/value.

Message 3 of 16
jhughes
Aspirant

Thank you SO much!!

Message 4 of 16
jhughes
Aspirant