× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: GS108PEv3 VLAN issue?

sniffs
Follower

GS108PEv3 VLAN issue?

So I recently bought this switch to power 2 POE Access points and I'm having some weirdness that I dont know how to fix.. I'm not an network engineer or super familiar with VLANS but I know enough..

Since there's no uplink port on this switch, the first port you plug in gets DHCP, which then you can assign a static IP.

So I plugged port 5 of this switch into port 5 of my UDMPro, then on my UDMPro assigned port 5 to my IOT VLAN. I then went back onto the switch and configured port based VLAN between port 1 and 5. Everything works perfectly fine, everything connecting to my POE AP gets an IP from the DHCP scope assigned to it from the UDMPro.

Now I have another AP plugged into port 2. I want to plug port 8 of this switch into port 8 of my UDMPro and create another, separate subnet and on the switch VLAN port 2 and 8 together.

When I do this, the switch becomes extremely slow and starts dropping packets left and right. It "works" in the sense that everything on this second VLAN is getting a proper IP from the scope but it's so unresponsive and everything connecting to this second POE AP drops wifi constantly.. the moment I unplug the cable from port 8 on the switch, boom, performance goes back to normal.

Sorry for the long thread.. any ideas on how I can fix this, if it's even possible with this switch?

Model: GS108v3|ProSafe 8-Port Gigabit Ethernet Desktop Switch
Message 1 of 2
schumaku
Guru

Re: GS108PEv3 VLAN issue?

Up front, very simple and obvious: With the second link between the security appliance and the switch, you created a network loop. 

@sniffs wrote:

I'm not an network engineer or super familiar with VLANS but I know enough..

That's overly optimistic - errare humanum est, preservare diabolicum...  networking is a constant learning, we never know enough.