× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Vlan across Multiple swtiches to Windows DHCP Server

RQIT
Aspirant

Vlan across Multiple swtiches to Windows DHCP Server

I am very new to VLAN and want to know if the following can be done.

I have searched through and not found anything that helps me solve this.

I have a Windows DHCP Server with scope 1, 2 and 3.

I have Switch 1 M4300-28G (GSM4328S) with dhcp server on port 20 Tagged. LAG 2 as trunk to Switch 2.

Switch 2 M4300-52G-PoE+ (GSM4352PB) with LAG 1 as trunk (to Switch 1) and LAG 2 as trunk to Switch 3.

Switch 3 M4300-28G (GSM4328S) with LAG 2 as trunk (Switch2) and port 3 as untagged (Connecting to PC).

I have Devices on all switches but want to route only certain VLAN to the DHCP Server to Receive IP address for that range.

I setup VLAN 65 on all switches (192.168.65.0). VLAN1 runs all other devices on the switches and hands out (192.168.0.0).

Swtich1 - Port 20 (T) - DHCP Server | Port 51,52 - LAG 2 (T) Trunk

Switch2 - Port 48,49 - LAG 1 (T) | Port 51,52 - LAG 2 (T) Trunk

Switch3 - Port 51,52 - LAG 2 (T)| Port 3 (U) - Device.

DHCP Relay - Admin Mode Enabled.

DHCP Relay L2 - Admin Mode Enabled

UDP Relay - Admin Mode Enabled and Set the DHCP Server ip with DHCP port.

The Computer does not get an ip.

If i Use the Gateway as a relay to the DHCP it then gets an IP but doing so slows the network down to 1gbps as it then routes the traffic through it.

How can i get the device to communicate directly with the DHCP Server to receive IP address from the correct range.

Message 1 of 3
schumaku
Guru

Re: Vlan across Multiple swtiches to Windows DHCP Server