× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Best practice for configuring my NAS

vaise
Aspirant

Best practice for configuring my NAS

Hi Experts, Hope you can assist me, or tell me I am on the right/wrong track. I guess I am after how other people user their NAS devices for reference. Sorry in advance for the long post.

Summary : New 314 NAS, 4 x 4TB drives. All running fine, added UPS (APS Backups 650), that is connected and also working fine. Email alerts all configured and working fine. Plex running on the NAS, in parallel with Plex running on my 'server' (server is just the name for my PC that is full of hard drives currently - to be replaced by the NAS). Plex is running on both until the NAS has proven itself for transcoding etc.

Before I was able to 'trust' the NAS (I am new to them) I have created the following NAS shares to match the folders/drives on my existing 'server' - Movies, Pictures, TV Shows, Documentaries, Music, Workstuff, Documents. I have in my existing 'server' a D drive, M drive, T drive and U drive (all 3TB) with all this data on it. I have setup some filesync sync jobs on my 'server' to copy all changes from these local drives to their corresponding NAS shares. The NAS has all been working fine so I am about to 'roll out' the NAS for this data, then remove the physical drives from my 'server'.

I was thinking of this -

Step 1 - Use one drive mapping from my 'server' as n: to the \\readynas\data share as an admin share with no view of hidden files/folders in explorer (so only the created shares are seen) i.e 'net use n: \\readynas\date /user:admin password'. That way the 'server' PC will see N:\Movies, N:\TVShows, N:\Music, N:\Pictures, N:\Workstuff. I fel this would be easier to manage than creating multiple mapped drives to each share on the NAS. Im after some direction on this. I am the only user so security will not be an issue.