× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: CrashPlan Alternatives

CarlEdman
Luminary

CrashPlan Alternatives

I've been using CrashPlan since 2014 to back up my ReadyNAS (about 9 TBytes used out of 20 TByte capacity).  It's been great.  Unlimited, continuous, encrypted, versioning backups running on the ReadyNAS itself (and hence independent of any workstation running or human intervention, except for original configuration) for about $4/month!  The initial backup took a couple of months, but since then in regular usage, all data added is safe within the cloud within minutes, or at most a few hours.

Sadly, as all good things must come to an end, CrashPlan just emailed me that they are transitioning out of the retail market to focus on SMBs and hence are terminating the CrashPlan for Home plan I'd been using.  They recommend switching either to Carbonite or upgrading to a CrashPlan Pro plan.

The latter alternative doesn't look terrible.  After an initial year of even more discounted storage (only $2.50/month!), it'll cost $10/month.  That's a steep hike, but worth it to me, if there are no better alternatives.  Worse, for some technical reason, they can't transfer backups larger than 5 TByte to their new system, so I'd have to do another full backup, taking months and leaving the data partially unprotected during the process.

I haven't been following the market closely since I picked CrashPlan years ago.  But given that I need to reupload everything anyway, I might as well hold another beauty contest.

So what are you guys using?  Can anybody recommend an alternative that is superior to CrashPlan Pro?