× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Moving from all Windows to mixed Windows/Mac landscape

rmurgz
Tutor

Moving from all Windows to mixed Windows/Mac landscape

Hi there,

I currently access my Readynas 314 only from Windows-based machines. However as a photographer I am considering buying some Apple Macs which I will also want to connect to the network in the same, simple way. Conscious of the NTFS/exFat/HFS+ compatibility considerations for external drives I was wondering if there were any particular issues or configuration considerations with file formats on the NAS drives too as I would rather not have to reconfigure my NAS and 4x hard drives.

Thanks!
Message 1 of 8
StephenB
Guru

Re: Moving from all Windows to mixed Windows/Mac landscape

The internal drives on the NAS already use btrfs, and there's no way to reformat them. Access over the network uses CIFS, NFS, AFP... CIFS and AFP are both supported by Apple (and CIFS is what you are using now with Windows).

External drives can be NTFS or ext. I'm fairly sure exFat won't work, not so sure about HFS+
Message 2 of 8
xeltros
Apprentice

ExFAT works on the NAS after a manipulation over SSH only. If you have no real use for it I would advise to stay away as Netgear may refuse support if SSH is activated.
NTFS is read by mac but you can't write on it.
There is software for that purprose. Look at NTFS-3G (or its paid version Tuxera) or at Paragon website.. You could use a combo pack and add the HF+ driver for windows too.

The NAS is not a problem, it will be handled perfectly the way it is. However, you can turn on Time Machine 😉
I would also turn on the snapshots if not already done, and add a backup system if you don't have one already.