× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
× Introducing the new Orbi 770 Series Mesh System. To learn more click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

How to change IP Address back?

lalamoe
Aspirant

How to change IP Address back?

Hello, you can probably tell I am a newbie here and my knowledge with routers and whatnot is very small 😞 Which would explain why I made this big mistake and now I want to reverse what I did. A few months ago (not sure exactly when) I changed my IP Address with a youtube video as a guide. I have a Netgear Wireless N-150 Router, along with a Scientific Atlanta modem. According to my mom, Comcast assigned us an IP Address, and I had changed it before they told me it wasn't right to change an IP Address a company assigned me and that I wasn't supposed to. Now, I don't remember what was the website I used to change it and I can't find the video 😧 Ever since that change, my laptop has had problems too. The internet crashes every few hours and I have to disconnect and re-connect the router and wait a minute or two to get it back again, and everytime I click on a site, it redirects me to another. Please help, I want to get everything back the way it was but I don't know how :confused:

Message 1 of 8
jmizoguchi
Virtuoso

Re: How to change IP Address back?

1. turn off the cable modem and unplug ethernet cable
2. wait for few min (5min)
3. turn on the cable modem only and do NOT plug any ethernet cable
4. wait until all the light up on cable modem
5. ONLY after all the light is up. hook up a router behind the cable modem
6. you should able to get public IP from the ISP and it will show up in the router status when you login the router.

Scientific Atlanta modem.

post specific model of the unit

To first quote, reset the the router as well. see router reset on my sig below and do that first and follow the 1~5 instructions
Message 2 of 8
lalamoe
Aspirant

Thankyou for helping me out!