× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Wireless network and DG834N as access point

r44flyer
Aspirant

Wireless network and DG834N as access point

Hello all,

I'm trying to build a small wireless network for a friend who owns a small hotel, attached to the owner's residence. I'm a novice, but interested in this stuff, so please bear with me.

I'm cabling APs together to give better coverage, using power over ethernet. Te APs wil probably be WPN802s unless someone suggests something better. Splitters will be used to provide power and data streams as I know these products don't support PoE directly. I'll give you a run down of the plan...

Currently one wireless router (DG834N) in the house side (red). I will move this to reception (where main ADSL line is, it's on an extension at the moment!). I might be able to receive decent reception upstairs as well, bearing in mind reception is currently poor to average half way along the main corridor upstairs, if not, an AP goes at first blue spot. PC in hose will be cabled from router in reception.

There is a concentration of thick walls around room 5, so I'm putting an AP here. There are lots of walls between here and the next proposed AP, which is why I need one here. Room 27 actually gets signal from the house but should defo get it from the last AP.

I am hoping signal will penetrate to the ground floor through the hotel, so there is no need to put another AP downstairs anywhere. If I need to, I will put a switch in the house and cable outside, using external cable, to ground floor under room 5. (If I have no ports left on the main router in reception which I can use!)