Forum Discussion

Pstreicher's avatar
Pstreicher
Luminary
Apr 02, 2018
Solved

Snapshots, how to recover more filespace by deleting

I discovered my free space was under 10%. I originally set up shares to make snapshots. I no longer feel the need for snapshots and have turned them off in one share to see how I can recover free space. This one folder showed 54 years of snapshot recovery. Quite ridiculous. Now that I have set the snapshot to 'Never', what next? I did a refresh but still see the snapshots and 10% or less free space. Do I have to wait a certain time for the snapshots to delete or what?

  • You delete them manually.  Go to the share page, and click the snapshots button on the upper right.  Then click a share.  You'll see a screen with a list of snapshots.  Select one or more, and you'll have a choice to delete them.

     


    Pstreicher wrote:

    This one folder showed 54 years of snapshot recovery. Quite ridiculous. 


    It couldn't show 54 years unless you had an incorrectly set clock for a while.

     

    The "smart" snapshots aren't that smart, since the monthly ones are never deleted.  I use custom snapshots, because I can set the maximum retention time.   I schedule them to run daily.

     

    Here's the settings I use:

4 Replies

Replies have been turned off for this discussion
  • StephenB's avatar
    StephenB
    Guru - Experienced User

    You delete them manually.  Go to the share page, and click the snapshots button on the upper right.  Then click a share.  You'll see a screen with a list of snapshots.  Select one or more, and you'll have a choice to delete them.

     


    Pstreicher wrote:

    This one folder showed 54 years of snapshot recovery. Quite ridiculous. 


    It couldn't show 54 years unless you had an incorrectly set clock for a while.

     

    The "smart" snapshots aren't that smart, since the monthly ones are never deleted.  I use custom snapshots, because I can set the maximum retention time.   I schedule them to run daily.

     

    Here's the settings I use:

    • Pstreicher's avatar
      Pstreicher
      Luminary

      I find in the list of snapshots the first file was dated 1970 in each of the folders. Tell me this, I see in the logs that I have deleted all the snapshots but the free space hasn't increased, is this normal? What do I have to do to get the space freed up?

      • StephenB's avatar
        StephenB
        Guru - Experienced User

        It takes some time for the space to be freed up.  Give it an hour or so, and then run a balance (from the volume settings wheel).

NETGEAR Academy

Boost your skills with the Netgear Academy - Get trained, certified and stay ahead with the latest Netgear technology! 

Join Us!

ProSupport for Business

Comprehensive support plans for maximum network uptime and business peace of mind.

 

Learn More