Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

CAX80 and slow downloads with Xbox Series X|S

Dohness
Aspirant

CAX80 and slow downloads with Xbox Series X|S

I just picked up a new CAX80 earlier today, this is the first time for my personally to use my own modem with my ISP (Spectrum) in probably 10+ years.

However, after getting everything online and configured I've noticed with both my Xbox series consoles I'm getting extremely slow download speeds both via Wi-Fi and ethernet.

I have a series S console connected via the 5ghz that is showing IPv4 only with open NAT but is unable to achieve a download speed greater than 6.72Mbps, while still getting the full upload speed of 35Mbps. UPnP is on and shows active for the IP and port.

I have a series X console that is connected via ethernet direct to the modem with the same IPv4, open NAT, but is only getting between 2Mbps and 4Mbps down and still getting the upload of 35Mbps.

I'm fairly new to the Netgear router interface so I'm unsure if enabling port forwarding would help either device or how to properly enable it. I have ensured that IPv6 is set to DHCP Server and Automatically from ISP.

Additional info, my desktop is also showing an IPv4, but is able to hit 800+ Mbps (1 gig service) and consistently keep at or above 30 Mbps upload. This issue appears to be isolated to the Xbox consoles specifically. 

Any and all support greatly appreciated. 

Message 1 of 6

Accepted Solutions
FURRYe38
Guru

Re: CAX80 and slow downloads with Xbox Series X|S

Has a power off for 1 minute then back ON with the ISP modem and router been performed since last update?
Be sure to restart your network in this sequence:
Turn off and unplug modem.
Turn off router and computers.
Plug in and turn on modem. Wait 2 minutes for it to connect.
Turn on the router and wait 2 minutes for it to connect.
Turn on computers and rest of network.