Reply
Apprentice
Posts: 16,075
Registered: ‎2007-09-24

ReadyNAS OS 6.0.6 | VirtualBox Image #notsupported

Are you a developer that wants to create and test new add-ons, but don't have systems available to develop on/break?
Are you pondering upgrading your first generation x86 system to the new OS, but want to test it out first?
Are you just jealous that Synology DSM can be run in a VM, and ReadyNAS can't?

Well here is how you can create a VirtualBox HDD to run ReadyNASOS virtually!

For the lazy, a pre-made appliance to download and import, all ready to go! ReadyNASOS-6.0.6-x86_64.ova (68 MB)
(First boot does install, will take ~1 minute. First time setup wizard will show. Has 2x8GB data disks in RAID1.)

This VM is no longer updated by the #notsupported team, as NTGR now provides an official VirtualBox image themselves:
Installing ReadyNAS OS on VirtualBox





These steps were run on a RAIDiator-x86 4.2.22 system, any Debian system should work, other platforms may need tweaking;
your mileage may vary! And of course, it has to be said, don't expect any support from NETGEAR with this.
$ wget -q ftp://downloads.netgear.com/files/GDC/READYNAS-100/ReadyNASOS-6.0.4-x86_64.zip; unzip -q ReadyNASOS-6.0.4-x86_64.zip
$ apt-get -y install syslinux-common; apt-get -y install syslinux mtools
$ mkdiskimage RNOS6.raw 512 8 32; losetup --offset 16384 /dev/loop0 RNOS6.raw
$ mkdosfs /dev/loop0; syslinux /dev/loop0; mount /dev/loop0 /mnt
$ dd if=ReadyNASOS-6.0.4-x86_64.img bs=16k skip=1|tar -C /mnt -x
$ echo -e 'default Normal\nlabel Normal\nkernel kernel\nappend initrd=initrd.gz reason=normal' > /mnt/syslinux.cfg; umount /mnt; losetup -d /dev/loop0
(losetup creates loopback device at first partition offset. installing syslinux-common (for mkdiskimage) first, because it will conflict with syslinux if installed at the same time. mtools provides mkdosfs.)

Now you have the raw disk image. Next you need to create a .VMDK file, to properly reference the RAW file, example:
# Disk DescriptorFile
version=1
encoding="windows-1252"
CID=fffffffe
parentCID=ffffffff
isNativeSnapshot="no"
createType="monolithicFlat"

# Extent description
RW 327680 FLAT "RNOS6.raw" 0

# The Disk Data Base
#DDB

ddb.virtualHWVersion = "8"
ddb.longContentID = "deadbeefcafedeadbeefcafeffffffff"
ddb.uuid = "60 00 C2 9c c1 a4 a8 2b-9f d1 65 f2 1e b1 9d 09"
ddb.geometry.cylinders = "325"
ddb.geometry.heads = "16"
ddb.geometry.sectors = "63"ddb.uuid.image="71222d44-9672-4482-941c-149c2ee0dfc4"
ddb.uuid.image="71222d44-9672-4482-941c-149c2ee0dfc4"
ddb.uuid.modification="de4161f9-152e-442e-ad6e-aa559179bd3e"
ddb.uuid.parent="00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000"
ddb.uuid.parentmodification="00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000"
ddb.geometry.biosCylinders="325"
ddb.geometry.biosHeads="16"
ddb.geometry.biosSectors="63"
Another option is to install the qemu-utils package, and run this command, to convert the raw image into a single VMDK file:
qemu-img convert -f raw RNOS6.raw -O vmdk RNOS6.vmdk

Now load up VirtualBox, create a VM, give it this disk to boot from, and a few more 'data' disks to install to. Put the E1000 NIC in Bridge mode.

You can discover the NAS via RAIDar, and possibly readycloud.netgear.com. Default admin/root password is 'password'. You can login via the console in the VM as root. Open https://IP/admin, and access Dashboard. The system model shows as 'VirtualBox Simulation'.
Aspirant
Posts: 545
Registered: ‎2011-08-15

Re: ReadyNAS OS 6 | VirtualBox Image #notsupported

Did you run the virtual image using vbox on the readynas or are you saying you just created it there? I've already got VB installed on a Pro 6 and would like to just try this.

steve
Apprentice
Posts: 16,075
Registered: ‎2007-09-24

Re: ReadyNAS OS 6 | VirtualBox Image #notsupported

I ran it in VirtualBox on my Mac, should work fine in a ReadyNAS also. #nested
Aspirant
Posts: 537
Registered: ‎2009-08-10

Re: ReadyNAS OS 6 | VirtualBox Image #notsupported

Thought I'd give this a go on VBox which I have running happily on the Ultra 2+...

What /apt/source.list are you using Chirpa if I may ask? I'm trying with my usual lists that I find works for me, but I'm hitting dependency errors for out-dated stuff. (4.2.23-T6)

 apt-get -y install syslinux-common;apt-get -y install syslinux mtools
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Couldn't find package syslinux-common
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
You might want to run `apt-get -f install' to correct these:
The following packages have unmet dependencies:
libcurl4-openssl-dev: Depends: libcurl3 (= 7.19.7-1.netgear2) but 7.19.7-1.netgear1 is to be installed
libncurses5-dev: Depends: ncurses-bin (= 5.7+20100313-5) but 5.5-5 is to be installed
uuid-dev: Depends: libuuid1 (= 1.41.14-1.netgear1) but 1.42.7-1.netgear2 is to be installed
E: Unmet dependencies. Try 'apt-get -f install' with no packages (or specify a solution).


Is there a simple solution? (I'm calling it a day now anyway, gotta be up early on the morn, so no urgency required really)
Apprentice
Posts: 16,075
Registered: ‎2007-09-24

Re: ReadyNAS OS 6 | VirtualBox Image #notsupported

Ah.

# cat /etc/apt/sources.list
deb http://www.readynas.com/packages 4.2.22/

deb http://archive.debian.org/debian etch main
deb http://backports.debian.org/debian-backports squeeze-backports main
Aspirant
Posts: 495
Registered: ‎2010-08-27

Re: ReadyNAS OS 6 | VirtualBox Image #notsupported

I tried using VBoxManage convertfromraw to create the VMDK file and when I boot the VM I get a kernel panic.
Charles LaCour
clacour_AT_gmail.com
Apprentice
Posts: 16,075
Registered: ‎2007-09-24

Re: ReadyNAS OS 6 | VirtualBox Image #notsupported

I saw that in the beginning while testing. And now trying the steps again, I am seeing it again. RAIDar shows Corrupt Root at that point or TFTP_REQ, sounds like it can't find itself (boot flash), probably partition issue.
Apprentice
Posts: 16,075
Registered: ‎2007-09-24

Re: ReadyNAS OS 6 | VirtualBox Image #notsupported

Okay, got it working now. It's very picky on the partition table.

Updated first post with new steps.
Apprentice
Posts: 16,075
Registered: ‎2007-09-24

Re: ReadyNAS OS 6 | VirtualBox Image #notsupported

I've created an OVA appliance you can easily import to bypass all the manual steps above, adding it to first post.
Aspirant
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎2012-07-26

Re: ReadyNAS OS 6 | VirtualBox Image #notsupported

Good job! You had to replace syslinux I presume?
FYI: The OVF does not import into VMware Workstation 9.
"did not pass OVF specification conformance"

I did extract the disk and is able to boot by manually creating a VM.
Stuck at the TFTP_REQ boot error. Can you provide some details on the partitioning problem?
Aspirant
Posts: 495
Registered: ‎2010-08-27

Re: ReadyNAS OS 6 | VirtualBox Image #notsupported

OK, the new instructions for creating the raw disk worked. I still used VBoxManage to create the VMDK from the raw image.
Charles LaCour
clacour_AT_gmail.com
Apprentice
Posts: 16,075
Registered: ‎2007-09-24

Re: ReadyNAS OS 6 | VirtualBox Image #notsupported

I can try exporting in VB using the 'Legacy OVF' option. Have not tested in VMware/Parallels/etc. TFTP_REQ means it couldn't find the boot flash. It looks like they detect VirtualBox and work around the path there.
Aspirant
Posts: 495
Registered: ‎2010-08-27

Re: ReadyNAS OS 6 | VirtualBox Image #notsupported

Interesting that when it RAIDar sees the VM running under VirtualBox it actually lists the Model as VirtualBox.

It looks like it is using connman for DNS and the settings in the UI don't have a DNS default domain or search domain settings. Do you know what the directive in the connman settings file is to set the DNS domain or search domains?
Charles LaCour
clacour_AT_gmail.com
Aspirant
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎2012-03-05

Re: ReadyNAS OS 6 | VirtualBox Image #notsupported

Thanks Chirpa for this VM!
I was curious to know what I will be missing on my 2 NASes Smiley Wink
Aspirant
Posts: 537
Registered: ‎2009-08-10

Re: ReadyNAS OS 6 | VirtualBox Image #notsupported

chirpa wrote:

For the lazy, a pre-made appliance to download and import, all ready to go! ReadyNASOS6VM.ova (209 MB)
(Boots into first time setup wizard. Has 2x32GB data disks in RAID1.)


My apologies Chirpa, the link doesn't work in Opera, and it never crossed my mind to use another browser. FF also gave me issues, but eventually I resorted to IE which worked. I shall look forward to trying it, many thanks.
Apprentice
Posts: 16,075
Registered: ‎2007-09-24

Re: ReadyNAS OS 6 | VirtualBox Image #notsupported

I use the link just fine in Chrome :/
Aspirant
Posts: 537
Registered: ‎2009-08-10

Re: ReadyNAS OS 6 | VirtualBox Image #notsupported

chirpa wrote:
I use the link just fine in Chrome :/


Yeah, I'm a bit of an Opera fanboy though. TBH that Mega site is the first site in years I've had flake out on me in that manner, you usually spot some kind of error that makes you think, "ah, Opera is being picky here" but that didn't happen this time.

I'll check on their boards to see if it's a common/known thing. Thanks anyway.
Aspirant
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2011-01-20

Re: ReadyNAS OS 6 | VirtualBox Image #notsupported

Hi,

Is there any chance of getting this working with VMware ESXi?

Regards,

Darren
Apprentice
Posts: 16,075
Registered: ‎2007-09-24

Re: ReadyNAS OS 6 | VirtualBox Image #notsupported

Doubt it. ESX uses SCSI disks, not SATA, along with other driver differences. And there would have to be in-place code to handle the different platforms, which it seems like only VirtualBox detection is built in.
Apprentice
Posts: 16,075
Registered: ‎2007-09-24

Re: ReadyNAS OS 6 | VirtualBox Image #notsupported

Added a RAIDiator-x86 4.2 VM as well: viewtopic.php?f=35&t=70834
Apprentice
Posts: 16,075
Registered: ‎2007-09-24

Re: ReadyNAS OS 6.0.5 | VirtualBox Image #notsupported

Updated OVA with 6.0.5 image.
Apprentice
Posts: 16,075
Registered: ‎2007-09-24

Re: ReadyNAS OS 6.0.6 | VirtualBox Image #notsupported

Updated OVA with 6.0.6 image.
Aspirant
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎2013-05-20

Re: ReadyNAS OS 6.0.6 | VirtualBox Image #notsupported

I can't download the VirtualBox image, it says its temporarly unaviable. Any posibillities to get the image somewhere else?
NETGEAR Moderator
Posts: 45,337
Registered: ‎2011-06-07

Re: ReadyNAS OS 6.0.6 | VirtualBox Image #notsupported

What web browser did you use? Can you try another?

Welcome to the forum!
Aspirant
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎2013-05-20

Re: ReadyNAS OS 6.0.6 | VirtualBox Image #notsupported

Thank you! I have tried Opera, Chrome and Internet Explorer. I get to the download page, but there it just wont pass even 1% of the download.
Discussion Stats
  • 50 replies
  • 3731 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 13 in conversation
Top Contributors
User Kudos Count
1