× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Device intermittently disconnect on RAX50 wireless router

anthonyng5p
Apprentice

Device intermittently disconnect on RAX50 wireless router

I have been using my Netgear RAX50 Wifi6 router for about a couple of months now. I have problems where certain devices lose their connection, and intermittently disconnect. Sometimes the devices reattach to the wireless network and sometimes they do not. Here are the facts around my problem:

• The problem mainly impacts my PS4, Nest DropCam camera and Honeywell Lyric Water sensors. Wireless signal is NOT an issue is any of these locations, based on tests when they are connected and the fact I had never had a problem with my prior Apple AX WiFi router.
  • The problem is that the devices will disconnect from the network, sometimes reconnect on their own after a several hours but sometimes not. In all cases, rebooting the RAX50 router fixes the problem until the next time it occurs. On the PS4, the network test identifies the SSID but then fails to get an IP address (i.e., this can also likely mean it is not authenticating, too; which I thought was the issue).
  • I have not had a problem with ANY other devices on the network, only this subset. There are about 20+ wireless devices on the network.
  • I have not updated to the new firmware .72 owing to some mixed reviews and the fact that the releases notes make no mention of any of these kinds of problems. I thought I would ask before trying to upgrade.