Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Nighthawk r7500 vpn setup

Retired_Member
Not applicable

Nighthawk r7500 vpn setup

I'm new to VPN but learn quickly. I'm trying to setup VPN on my router for a layer of security for my home. I am getting error messeges with openVPN. Following the instructions on the router, many forums, and the OpenVPN resources, I am not able to get this working. I receive this error "warning: no server certificate verification method has been enabled. see http://openvpn.net/howto.html#mitm for more info." can someone please assist? Perhaps have a walk through other than what's just on the router? Thank you in advance.
Model: R7500|Nighthawk X4 AC2350 Smart WiFi Router,R7500v2|Nighthawk X4 AC2350 Smart WiFi
Message 1 of 11

Accepted Solutions
Retired_Member
Not applicable

Re: Nighthawk r7500 vpn setup

After reading a LOT of information I decided to sell my R7500 and buy a R7000P  I flashed it with DD-WRT and was done in about an hour...  Super easy.  I'm not sure why Netgear does not have more functionality built in the standard interface.  Thank you all for the replies.

View solution in original post

Model: R7500|Nighthawk X4 AC2350 Smart WiFi Router
Message 5 of 11

All Replies
bripab007
Tutor

We probably need a bit more info to really help you, but I've set up the VPN server on both the 7000 and 7500 routers, using both stock Netgear firmware as well as Tomato and DD-WRT 3rd-party firmwares. Netgear makes it fairly easy in the stock firmware, especially if you're just using a mobile device/smartphone. So what is the client device, do you already have a dynamic DNS provider for your ISP's internet connection (Netgear has the stock one I think serviced by No IP so you can choose a subdomain in the "mynetgear.com" DNS zone).