Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Router throttling speeds?

Router throttling speeds?

I have both a Nighthawk modem and Router(R6700v3). ISP internet is 600-700mbps. When i hardwire my laptop directly into the modem, I get these speeds. however, anything plugged into the router itself gets a max of maybe 250mbps including the same laptop using the same ethernet cable.

Any settings or suggestions to fix this?

Model: R6700|Nighthawk AC1750 Smart WiFi Router
Message 1 of 8

Accepted Solutions
SgtWorm
Initiate

Re: Router throttling speeds?

Roll the firmware back to 3_66. Looking through all the things I can find... isn’t much and NETGEAR support just hangs up on you. Useless pieces of **bleep**. Yes I work support, and yes I work in tech. The firmware after their Armor release seems to throttle at 250. Don’t know if it is the armor or what, but every update after that throttles at 250 even on a FIOS connection. Don’t waste time or money on their support as they don’t know nor want to help.

View solution in original post

Message 6 of 8

All Replies

@crashnburn441 wrote:

I have both a Nighthawk modem

Model number?

What firmware version do you have on the device?

A number is more useful than "the latest". (It may not be by the time people read this.) There can also be newer versions, or "hot fixes", that do not show up if you check for new firmware in the browser interface.

Message 2 of 8

Nighthawk Router Firmware version is V1.0.4.84

Modem is NETGEAR Nighthawk Cable Modem with Voice - CM1150V - dont know how to check firmware version on that, however as I said hard-wiring other devices into that directly achieves speeds that I am supposed to get. 

Message 3 of 8

@crashnburn441 wrote:

Modem is NETGEAR Nighthawk Cable Modem with Voice - CM1150V - dont know how to check firmware version on that, however as I said hard-wiring other devices into that directly achieves speeds that I am supposed to get.