Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

orbi and fibre broadband

TrevReav
Aspirant

orbi and fibre broadband

Hi, I've been using my orbi setup for about 18 months now with 'normal' broadband. Today I've just upgraded to fibre broadband and was expecting to be able to just 'plug n play' and orbi would be up and running, but no.

The orbi just sits there glowing purple and doesn't connect. I've tried restarting everything, but still nothing. 

Any thoughts?

thanks in advance. 

Message 1 of 17
FURRYe38
Guru

Re: orbi and fibre broadband

What Firmware is currently loaded?
What is the Mfr and model# of the ISP modem the NG router is connected too?

Has the ONT and Orbi router both been powered OFF first, then power ON the ONT, let it sync, then power ON the Orbi router? 

Any prior ISP configurations with last service? If so, might try a factory reset and setup from scratch if power cycle method fails. 

Message 2 of 17
plemans
Guru

@TrevReav wrote:

Hi, I've been using my orbi setup for about 18 months now with 'normal' broadband. Today I've just upgraded to fibre broadband and was expecting to be able to just 'plug n play' and orbi would be up and running, but no.

The orbi just sits there glowing purple and doesn't connect. I've tried restarting everything, but still nothing. 

Any thoughts?

thanks in advance. 

Most fibre instllations aren't plug and play. we need a little more info to go off.

Orbi still requires a modem or modem/router combo device to connection to. What is your's? Model/brand/firmware.

Is it a straight modem device or is it a combo device? If its a combo device, the orbi will need to be in AP mode.

In terms of your orbi, if its pulsing magenta here are the reasons: