× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

ReadyNAS RN31200 Won't Boot

jonaldo
Aspirant

ReadyNAS RN31200 Won't Boot

Hi all

Was wondering if someone could help me.

I've been using my ReadyNAS RN31200 for many years now with no problems whatsoever.

We had a powercut today and when the power came back on, the fan on my readynas is spinning loudly but there are no lights at all on the front? If i turn it off and switch it back on, the power light flashes for about 10 seconds, then goes solid blue. After about 5 seconds it flashes once then goes off altogether and won't come back on. It just sits there with the fan going.

RAIDar can't find anything and i have also plugged it directly into my laptop but still no joy

Any ideas on what it could be or how i can fix it?

If you need any more info let me know.

Thanks in advance

Jon

Model: RN31200|ReadyNAS 300 Series 2-Bay
Message 1 of 21

Accepted Solutions
StephenB
Guru

Re: ReadyNAS RN31200 Won't Boot

@jonaldo wrote:

Do i take it that my NAS is knackered or is there anything else i could try?

It sounds like it is dead.  But you could try a USB recovery as a last resort.  https://kb.netgear.com/29952/How-do-I-use-the-USB-Recovery-Tool-on-my-ReadyNAS-OS-6-storage-system. It's quite fussy about flash drives - older ones tend to work better.

If you purchase a new ReadyNAS, you can directly migrate the disks.  It's best to get an RN420 series or better (those are x86 platforms like your current NAS).  The RN422 is the replacement for the RN312 (which was discontinued some months ago).

View solution in original post

Message 17 of 21

All Replies
StephenB
Guru

If you remove the disks (labeling by slot) and then start up the NAS, does RAIDar find it?  https://kb.netgear.com/20684/ReadyNAS-Downloads#raidar

Message 2 of 21
jonaldo
Aspirant

Hi and thanks for the reply