× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

ReadyNas 102 Slow Transfer Rate - Windows 7

Orthodoxyn
Aspirant

ReadyNas 102 Slow Transfer Rate - Windows 7

Hi,
I am completely new to network drives and wondering if someone can give me some advise as my transfer rate is incredibly slow.

Here is my setup
Readynas 102 (Firmware 6.2.2) INC 1 x WD RED WD30EFRX 3TB
Windows 7 PC (jumbo frames enabled 2k)
Netgear FS105 Gigabit Switch
All cat 6 cabling

When transferring, via file drop/copy within windows, an 800mb file its taking up to 8 minutes.

Can anyone help?

Thanks in advance.
Message 1 of 34
mdgm-ntgr
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Re: ReadyNas 102 Slow Transfer Rate - Windows 7

The NETGEAR FS105 is a Fast Ethernet (100Mbit/s) Switch not a gigabit one. The GS105 is the Gigabit (1000Mbit/s) one. Can you confirm which you have?

What speed do you get if you disable Jumbo Frames? Have you tried a direct-connection between the NAS and your PC bypassing the switch?

Welcome to the forum!
Message 2 of 34
StephenB
Guru

If you are using a fast ethernet switch, then your network can't carry jumbo frames so you should turn them off on the PC and the NAS. Normally drag/drop of an 800 MB file will take about 1 1/2 minutes on fast ethernet.

The RN102 should transfer the data in about 10-15 seconds on gigabit w/o jumbo frames (though your PC could become the bottleneck in that case, especially if it is a laptop w/o an SSD drive). The RN102 write speeds are slower than the read speeds.

Also, I suggest using NASTester to measure the transfer speeds. You can find it here: http://www.808.dk/?code-csharp-nas-performance
Message 3 of 34
Orthodoxyn
Aspirant

The switch I have is FS105. Is it worth me investing in a gigabit switch? I have a spare wndr3700 router if that's better for me to use?

I don't appear to be able to disable jumbo frames within the readynas.